Books about Raff

The Music of Joachim Raff. An illustrated catalogue.

by Mark Thomas
The Music of Joachim Raff - An illustrated catalogue

Published by Edition Nordstern.
A4 (21 x 29.7 cm). 340 pages.
ISBN 978-3-9823267-0-2

Now also avilable as a PDF download for only €39.00!

This book is the definitive modern catalogue raisonée of Raff's oeuvre, published to mark his bicentenary in 2022 and fully replacing the only previous catalogue, dating from 1888. Lavishly illustrated, with comprehensive appendices summarising every aspect of Raff's output and a particularly extensive index, this is the only complete source for every known work composed by Raff, extant or lost. The result of nine years research, the study of every extant Raff score and his newly-available correspondence, it lists full details of over 400 works, 99 of them for the first time, and at last provides thorough descriptions of all unpublished works, some of which are on a large scale. Available for the first time are synopses of all his works for the stage, a thorough investigation of Raff's music which was published under pseudonyms, as the work of others or anonymously, details of the many piano works from his early years which were either destroyed or lost, a survey of unfulfilled composition projects, and much more. The book is an essential tool for any musicologist, performer or enthusiast interested in the music of this fascinating composer

  Download some sample pages (in PDF format).

Buy the book or PDF direct from Edition Nordstern.

© 1999-2024 Mark Thomas. All rights reserved.